Vetta Chamber Music


Next Concert:


Artistic Director's Message

"Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent." - Victor Hugo

It is such a privilege to be able to select for you yet another season of wonderful chamber music. Some will be familiar, and some less so, but I hope all this music will speak to you. I just could not wait any longer for the Mozart and Brahms viola quintets and so I am pleased to open this year's series with these beautiful works. The viola was favoured by these composers for its soulful timbre, and you will hear that extra richness that comes from having two tenor voices instead of one.

The Beethoven Archduke and the Mendelssohn C Minor trios are familiar, delightful, and worthy of hearing over and over. Equally familiar but perhaps less "comfortable" is Schubert's Death and the Maiden quartet, that expresses perfectly and with pure beauty the composer's struggles with life and death. In contrast, the eerie, moving Quartet for the End of Time by Messiaen and the epic second string quartet of Shostakovich are works from the mid 20th century that wrench our hearts and bring consciousness to human suffering. After all that serious repertoire, I suspect we will all be ready for a little fun at our final concert, which by popular demand brings back Linda Lee Thomas and Tangissimo!

Yours in Music,
Joan Blackman

P.S. We are also pleased to announce the continuation of our successful "Vetta Afternoons" with repertoire selected from the Friday evening performance, followed by tea and cookies.




Like us on facebook
and follow us on twitter!

Download Brochure

Contact Us:

Vetta Chamber Music
PO Box 19148 4th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6K 4R8